top of page


2024 Award Recipients

Join us on April 20, 2024, as we commemorate a significant milestone - the 75th Anniversary of the Raleigh (NC) Chapter of the Links Incorporated. Get ready for an unforgettable experience at our Diamond Jubilee Day Party! We have organized a variety of festivities to mark 75 years of dedicated service to our incredible Raleigh-Wake community. As a part of our 75th Anniversary Celebration, we will host our 14th Annual Emerald Awards ceremony, where we will recognize the achievements of five outstanding women. The 2024 Emerald Award  Honorees are:

  • Services to Youth, Minnie Forte-Brown, a Founding member of Durham’s Children’s Initiative 

  • The Arts, Dr. Laura Bethea, Chairperson, African American Cultural Festival of Raleigh, and Wake County Governing Board of Directors


  • National Trends and Services, Yvette Holmes, CEO of Southeast Raleigh Promise


  • International Trends and Services, Dr. Christine Grant, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at North Carolina State University


  • Health and Human Services, Dr. Nerissa Price, Mental Health and Wellness, WakeMed and Price Psychiatry PPLC


All proceeds from our event support scholarships, grants and promoting economic growth and empowerment.  Your investment, participation, and support enable us to lead in our local community.  Learn more about our efforts and ways to support our 75th Anniversary Campaign: Empowering a Healthy Economy.

Experience the unforgettable journey of jubilation and appreciation as The Raleigh (NC) Links and the Links Incorporated come together for a grand celebration of community excellence. Grab your tickets because this is an experience you won't want to miss! We are proud to host the 75th Diamond Jubilee in collaboration with The Links Foundation, Incorporated.

Ticket Costs: $75.00

Location: Raleigh Convention Center, 500 South Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27601

Time: 10:30 Shopping begins, 11:00 doors open, 11:30-3:00 Diamond Jubilee Celebration and Day Party Experience

75th Anniversay 2024 Save the Date (1).png

2023 Emerald Award Recipients

Paulette R. Dillard, PhD, Services to Youth
Tamara Holmes Brothers, PhD, The Arts
Cheryl Williams, National Trends and Services
Sandra K. Johnson, PhD, International Trends and Services
Terry W. Spicer, Health and Human Services

2022 Emerald Award Recipients

Valerie Lynn Willis, Services to Youth
Lakeshia T. Reid, The Arts
Omisade Burney-Scott, National Trends and Services
Siobahn Day Grady, PhD, International Trends and Services
Marie Georgette Debnam, MD and Marjorie Lynette Debnam, MD, Health and Human Services

2021 Emerald Award Recipients

Jacqueline L. Mims, Services to Youth

Nneena Freelon, The Arts

Yvonne Lewis Holley, National Trends and Services

Felicia Browne-Lherrison, International Trends and Services

Gayle Bridges Harris, Health and Human Services


2019 Emerald Award Recipients

Doris J. Bullock, Services to Youth

Monét Noelle Marshal, The Arts

Dawn Blagrove, National Trends and Services

Tsegga S. Medhin, International Trends and Services

Regina Y. Petteway, Health and Human Services


2018 Emerald Award Recipients

Syliva Wiggins, Services to Youth

Dr. Cicely E. Mitchell, The Arts

Jessica Holmes, National Trends and Services

Juni Asiyo, International Trends and Services

Dr. Wendy Brewster, Health and Human Services


2016 Emerald Award Recipients

Raquel Battle, International Trends and Services

Dr. Elsie Leak,  Services to Youth

Nancy Pinckney, The Arts

Dr. Portia W. Rochelle, National Trends and Services
Dr. Kamala Latori Uzzell-Jones, Health and Human Services)


2015 Emerald Award Recipients

Kelly Starling Lyons, Services to Youth

Eleanora E. Tate, The Arts

Betty Camp, National Trends and Services

M. Iyailu Moses, Ed. D., International Trends and Services

Belinda Pettiford, Health and Human Services


2014 Emerald Award Recipients

Iris Peoples Green, Services to Youth

Lonieta Cornwal, Ed. D., The Arts

Cassandra Deck-Brown, National Trends and Services

Esteria J. Woods-White, International Trends and Services

Laura I. Gerald, Health and Human Services


2013 Emerald Award Recipients

Joyce Robinson, Services to Youth

Dr. Patricia Caple, The Arts

Octavia Rainey, National Trends and Services

Dr. Sheila Smith McKoy, International Trends and Services

Dr. Sharon Elliott-Bynum, Health and Human Services


2012 Emerald Award Recipients

Brenda High Sanders, Services to Youth

Beverly McIver, The Arts

Andrea Harris, National Trends and Services

Helen Asemota, PhD, International Trends and Services

Leah Brown, Health and Human Services*

*In 2012, Health and Human Services was added as an additional National Facet.


2011 Emerald Award Recipients

Symonetta Higgs, Services to Youth

Zelda Lockhart, The Arts

Eva Clayton, National Trends and Services

Yvonne Coston, PhD, International Trends and Services


2010 Emerald Award Recipients 

Calla Bethel Wright, Services to Youth

Jaki Shelton Green, The Arts

Barbara Pullen-Smith, National Trends and Services

LaHoma Romocki, PhD, International Trends and Services

“Linked In Friendship, Connected In Service”
bottom of page